Museums: Interact and Engage

 

Museums and Interactivity

When it came to creating the video on museums and interactivity, I first wanted to work out the issues that museums were having. With the various (and often ambiguous) types of museums which exist in the world from memorial museums to science to art museums, each of them have their own battles which they face for interactivity and many approach it differently. There were many articles about how museums are moving to a 2.0 (digital) design over the traditional design, and I had spent a long time trying to understand and reading about how engagement happens today, and what processes are being used.

After a few weeks of reading, I figured I would go back to the well and work out which museums and experiences I had found the most engaging, and from this, which benefits and exciting aspects were used to engage me.

I have no issue with talking in front of others, but one of my biggest hates is seeing and hearing myself on camera. I also had many journal articles which I had read through which all brought on a different approach, and in turn I needed to work out which of the ones were the most relevant. These scholarly sources came down to a solid six sources, and from there it was much easier to implement and write a script.

Before filming, I had realised that there was a potential to make my video grander with videos of various levels of interactivity from the numerous museums which i had attended to. I managed to find a lot of myself and my friend who would volunteer to engage, and with his permission was able to gather footage which brought another level to this video. Once this was found and collated, I then wrote out a script to match the articles as well as touch on the points which I felt best suited the video, which I found difficult but not more challenging than any other assignment.

My strategy for this was to ensure that the articles which i used were the most informative and linked the best to what i was hoping to engage with museums and interactivity. As there are many types of museums, and one which I am volunteering for, I felt that it would be easier to show museums which I had attended and found to be more interactive, and so I did not use that of cultural heritage, art-specific or purely historical museums. I settled on the college football hall of fame, which was the most interactive and interesting experience I have ever been a part of. You can find more information about it here.

My challenges came down to a few factors:

  • My fear of seeing myself on camera

This is not a large fear for me, but it still makes me quite anxious and uncomfortable to film myself in front of a camera, and then playing it back. For a long time as well I did not like how I sounded on camera, but through practice I had managed to get over that hurdle.

  • Finding creatively licenced materials

I found this difficult as although I went through the creative commons website and engaged online to utilize either sound or video with sound, with the style and theme I was looking for it ended up taking me quite a while to find a sound which suited my video and also was not too overpowering, but at the end, I found one which i think was really interesting and different

  • Filming

One of the hardest parts was finding a space which had correct lighting, sound, and ambiance without being too distracting. After spending almost half a day setting up my camera around my house, I managed to find a small spot, but it was indeed challenging even then to maintain consistency in lighting. I also managed to forget that there is post production in videos and many times would become frustrated with myself when I said ‘um’ or ‘ah’ on camera. But all a part of the magic!

  • Video editing!!!!

I have never had to use video editing software, and when I did it was for no more than a quick thirty seconds. I tried out various film editing software which I had either purchased or downloaded, and I had spent a little bit of time engaging in other programs before I finally settled on Adobe Premiere Pro. A wonderful, supremely intricate program which I hear you can do almost everything from there, lead me to pounding on my desk in tears at time when things did not work properly, and there were a myriad of issues in terms of layering and using the program to its full capacity. Despite these frustrations, I feel much more accomplished that I managed to complete this assignment and perhaps even in the future I can make another one!

Outside of the struggles, I quite enjoyed this experience of research and finding how museums find ways to engage their audiences, as well as struggles with keeping the soul and message which they are attempting to portray. Some of these are more serious than others, but with all of them having an engaging and interactive experience allows for visitors to become immersed better than if it was not interactive.

 

Highlighting my broader online engagement

Since the first assignment I have found myself to be more engaged than prior to it. I have been active online in our #ALC203 hashtag, and as well have written some blog posts, and engaged more effectively on social media. The short twitter access has allowed for me to post articles and topics which are engaging online, as well as voice my opinions on various topics.

 

Such is an example of a platform which I had engaged in further, as well as writing blogs fortnightly (or close to). I have found this unit to really bring me out of my shell on many levels both online and offline (as an effect of becoming more comfortable in posting my opinions) and as the other participants in the unit was so engaging (as well as the teachers); this has become the best subject I have ever been a part of!

 

20150115_131531
NASA MUSEUM

 

 

Music  

Celluloid by whatfunk

Used under creative commons licence

 

References

Music  

Celluloid by whatfunk
Used under creative commons licence

Ballofet, P., Courvoisier, F. H. & & Laiger, J., 2014. ‘From Museum to Amusement Park: The Opportunities and Risks of Edutainment’. International Journal of Arts Management, vol. 16, no. 2, pp. 4-17.

Bearman, D. & Trant, J., 1999. ‘Interactivity comes of age: museums and the World Wide Web’. Museum International, vol. 51, no. 4. pp 20-24

Capriotti, P., Carreton, C. & Castillo, A., 2016. ‘Testing the level of interactivity of institutional websites: From museums 1.0 to museums 2.0’. International Journal of Information Management, vol. 36, no.1, pp. 97-104.

Gul, S. N. &. Akmehmet. K. T., 2015. ‘Interactive Spaces in Art Museums: A Landscape of Exhibiton Strategies’. Solsko Polje, vol. 26, no. 5, pp. 141-155.

Reading, A., 2003. ‘Digital Interactivity in Public Memory Institutions: the Uses of New Technologies in Holocaust Museums’. Media, Culture and Society, vol. 25, no.1, pp. 67-85.

Wazlawick, R. S. et. al., 2001. ‘Providing More Interactivity to Virtual Museums: A Proposal for a VR Authoring Tool’. Presence, vol. 10, no.16, pp. 647-656

Cotterall, S & Cohen, R 2003, ‘Scaffolding for second language writers: producing an academic essay’, ELT Journal, vol. 57, no. 2, pp. 158–66.

Note: All images / videos used in the video were taken by Dustin Kochen – Consent has been granted for all other participants for all videos/photos,

 

 

Leave a Reply

