Don’t Trust the Teacher!: Advice for/by Students

Getting active early, keeping your social media platforms up to date and giving yourself the best platform for success is key in engaging online

Adam Brown

Creepy Self-portrait by Adam Brown, 22 January 2016. Creepy.

I wrote in an earlier blog called ‘Who’s Learning From Whom?‘ about my dismay over the years that the views and ideas of students are often not given the weight they deserve by their peers. That post shared a video with Catherine Shelley, a recent Deakin University graduate now working as an Event Producer, which signified the next stage of my quest to emphasise the importance of student contributions to unit content. I’ve included students in segments of my teaching videos in some form or another since I began making them in 2013, although this gets increasingly difficult when I teach fewer seminars directly and I can’t build enough of a rapport to get many students confidently standing in front of my camcorder. However, the ‘trust issue’ alluded to in the title of this blog takes on a different…

View original post 523 more words

Leave a Reply

